Subscribe to News updates via Email

Subscribe to News updates via RSS newsfeed
  Home » Feature Stories » News » Announcing winners of Habitat Scroll of Honour Awards as Countdown to World Habitat Day continues
Announcing winners of Habitat Scroll of Honour Awards as Countdown to World Habitat Day continues Bookmark and Share
  Email this story
  Print This Page!

Nairobi, Kenya, 22 Sept 09

The awards, considered the most significant prize in the field of human settlements, will be presented during the global observances being held in Washington DC in conjunction with US Department of Housing and Urban Department (HUD).

In keeping with tradition, this year’s winners of the Habitat Scroll of Honour come from diverse backgrounds and continents. Those feted include a Canadian human settlements guru awarded posthumously for his work in advancing sustainable urbanisation and a project in a small South African town that has changed the lives of the inhabitants for the better by improving access to healthcare, water and electricity.

The United Nations has designated the first Monday of October every year as World Habitat Day. The idea is to reflect on the state of our towns and cities and the basic right of all to adequate shelter. It is also intended to remind the world of its collective responsibility for the future of the human habitat.

The winners of this year’s WHD Scroll of Honour Awards are:

Peter Oberlander (Canada)
A founding father of UN-HABITAT - for a lifetime of promoting the urban agenda around the world

Un Techo Para Mi Pais (Chile)
For providing 42,000 homes for the poor in 15 Latin American countries

Rizhao Municipal Government (China)
For transforming their city into a green home with new housing and infrastructure

Cementos Mexicanos - CEMEX (Mexico)
For helping more than 1 million poor people build their own homes

The City of Grozny (Russia)
For resurrecting their war scarred city and providing new homes for thousands

Al- Medina Al-Munawarah Local Urban Observatory (Saudi Arabia)
For pioneering a Local Observatory System now used elsewhere in the country and in the Middle East for smart urban planning

The Alexandra Renewal Project (South Africa)
For helping thousands of poor people move into better homes and boosting health, water and electricity services

The City of Malmö (Sweden)
For its innovative, holistic approach to becoming a 21st century eco-city

UWESO (Uganda)
For providing water, health and sanitation to orphans and vulnerable children

Jan Peterson (United States of America)
For championing the rights of grassroots women and their movements for better human settlements

Neal Peirce (United States of America)
For a lifetime of journalism dedicated to reporting on cities for a better urban future

For full details of the winners, please click here

Site Map | Site Directory | Contact Us | Feedback | Terms & Conditions | Fraud and scam alert