Follow us on UN-habitat on Youtube UN-Habitat on Scribd UN-Habitat on Flickr UN-Habitat on Facebook UN-Habitat on Twitter

About the Award

The UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour award was launched by the United Nations Human Settlements Programme in 1989. It is currently the most prestigious human settlements award in the world. Its aim is to acknowledge initiatives which have made outstanding contributions in various fields such as shelter provision, highlighting the plight of the homeless, leadership in post conflict reconstruction and developing and improving human settlements and the quality of urban life.

The award, a plaque engraved with the name of the winner and their achievement, is presented to the winners during the World Urban Forum.

This year, we have received submissions describing an array of impressive initiatives to improve shelter and urban services.

Selection of UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour Award winners is ongoing and winners will be announced towards the end of October 2013.

UN-Habitat on Thursday announced the winners of the 2013 Scroll of Honour Award.

The winners were picked from as far afield as Brazil and Ethiopia, underscoring the tag that the award is truly a global one.
Speaking about the nominees, United Nations Under-Secretary-General and UN-Habitat Executive Director, Dr Joan Clos, said: “As usual we have had a number of exceptional entries for the Scroll of Honour award.  The Board felt that the winners showed exemplary evidence of their work enhancing the lives of urban dwellers and promoting the new urban agenda.  The sharing of best practice from around the world is vital as we plan for the urban future we want in the run up to Habitat III in 2016.”
Three of the UNHABITAT Scroll of Honor winners displaying their awards.
Bryan Lipmann of Wintringham Australia receives Scroll of Honour.
Mayor of Kunshan Mr. Aiguo Guan with his Deputy Mayor Mr. Xiaoliang Xia.
UN-Habitat Scroll Of Honour Awards - 2012
World Urban Forum 6 - Closing Ceremony - Scroll of Honour Awards
World Urban Forum 6 - Closing Ceremony - Scroll of Honour Awards