Dubai International Award for Best Practices
Best Practices Database
Best Practices Exhibition
Spanish Best Practices Winners of the Dubai International Award
BLP Partners
Visit our Online Portal here
  Home » Programmes » Best Practices and Local Leadership » Dubai International Award for Best Practices
Dubai International Award for Best Practices
  Print This Page!

The Dubai International Award for Best Practices (DIABP) was established under the directive of the late Sheikh Maktoum Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, during the United Nations International Conference that convened in Dubai between 19 – 22 November 1995. The Award reflects the continuing policy and commitment of the Dubai Government and the United Arab Emirates towards sustainable development of human settlements on the basis of mutual international cooperation. The award is administered jointly with UN-Habitat. To date, nearly 4,000 practices from 140 countries have been collected and documented. These are managed and disseminated via the Best Practices Database and are classified into one of four categories - Award Winners, Best Practices, Good Practices or Promising Practices.

The Award
Among all the applicants, 12 award winners are selected in the five categories of Best Practices, Best Practice Transfer, University Research, Private Sector and Personal Award. Six Best Practices, 2 Best practices Transfer and two Private Sector award winners, all receive US $ thirty thousand (30,000 US Dollars) each. The private sector and personal awards are non-monetary and one winner in each category receives a trophy and a commemorative certificate.

The Award is open to:

  1. Government organizations or agencies, including bilateral aid agencies ;
  2. National Habitat Committees or Focal Points;
  3. Multilateral Agencies (United Nations Agencies, World Bank, etc.)
  4. Cities, local authorities and their associations;
  5. Non-governmental organizations (NGOs);
  6. Community-based organizations (CBOs);
  7. Private Sector;
  8. Research and academic institutions;
  9. Media;
  10. Public or private foundations;
  11. Individuals are eligible for the Dubai International Award provided that they are submitting a specific initiative or project that meets the Best Practice criteria.

The major criteria for a Best Practice to be considered for the Award include:

  1. Impact in improving the living environment of people particularly the poor and disadvantaged;
  2. Partnership between at least two of the above mentioned eligible actors;  
  3. Sustainability demonstrated by lasting changes in legislation, social policies, institutional frameworks and management systems.

Additional criteria and considerations include:

  1. Leadership and community empowerment;
  2. Gender equality and social inclusion;
  3. Innovation within local context and transferability;
  4. Transfers.

Submissions and Time Table for the 2014 Award Cycle

1 March 2014:

Deadline for receiving submissions requesting feedback.

31 March 2014:

Final deadline for modification to match the criteria and the guidelines of the award.

June 2014:

Evaluation of submissions by the Technical Advisory Committee – selection of up to 100 submissions that deserve to be considered as Best Practices and short-listing of a maximum 48 initiatives to be forwarded to the International Jury with specific recommendations on practices to be awarded for transfers.

July 2014:

International Jury selects Award recipients.

October 2014:

Best Practices Award Ceremony.

For detailed guidelines and reporting format, please click below.

 English - Submission Guide English 23-Jan-14
 Spanish - Submission Guide Español 23-Jan-14
 Arabic - Submission Guide العربية 23-Jan-14
 French - Submission Guide Français 23-Jan-14
 Chinese - Submission Guide 中文 23-Jan-14
 Portuguese - Submission Guide Português 23-Jan-14
 German - Submission Guide Deutsch 23-Jan-14
Site Map | Site Directory | Contact Us | Feedback | Terms & Conditions | Fraud and scam alert